ISSTA 2012 banner

2012 International Symposium on Software Testing and Analysis (ISSTA 2012)

July 15th-20th, 2012, Minneapolis, MN

ISSTA is the leading research symposium in software testing and analysis, bringing together academics, industrial researchers, and practitioners to exchange new ideas, problems, and experience on how to analyze and test software systems. ISSTA 2012 will be held in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in the McNamara Alumni Center on the University of Minnesota campus.

ISSTA week consists of two and a half days of co-located workshops and two and a half days of technical papers. Workshops will explore a range of emerging topics in software testing and analysis. Full or half-day workshops in the days preceding the main technical program of ISSTA provide focused research communities with an opportunity for technical interchange within the overall context of ISSTA. Each day of the ISSTA symposium will begin with an invited keynote address given by a highly-regarded expert, bringing fresh perspectives on the challenges of testing and analysis of software systems.

Technical Program

Authors are invited to submit technical papers describing original research in testing or analysis of computer software. Papers describing theoretical or empirical research, new techniques, or in-depth case studies of testing and analysis methods and tools are welcome. Submissions must be original and should not have been published previously or be under consideration for publication while being evaluated for this symposium. Authors of accepted papers will be required to sign an ACM copyright release.


Organizers are invited to submit proposals for full-day and half-day workshops on topics related to software testing and analysis. Proposals should include a description of the workshop’s scope and intended number of participants, and on how participants will be selected. Proposals should also provide some information on how the workshop will be structured, and on the background of the organizers. Proposals may be up to 2 pages in ACM conference format.

Technical Paper Submission Guidelines

Technical papers must be prepared in ACM conference format and must not exceed 11 pages, including figures, references and appendices. All submissions must be in English. Submit your paper via the paper submission website. Submissions that do not adhere to these guidelines, including any that are longer than 11 pages, or that violate formatting to fit in the page limit, will be declined without review.

Important Dates

Workshop Proposal Submission Deadline: Friday, November 18, 2011
Workshop Notification: Friday, December 16, 2011
Technical Paper Submission Deadline: Friday, February 10, 2012
Technical Paper Author Notification: Friday, April 20, 2012
Author response period: March 19th - 22nd
Submission of Camera-Ready Copies: Friday, May 18, 2012
Conference: Monday-Friday, July 15-20, 2012

Conference Organization

General Chair
Mats Heimdahl, University of Minnesota

Program Chair
Zhendong Su, University of California, Davis

Local Arrangements Chair
Michael Whalen, University of Minnesota

Web Chair
Jason Biatek, University of Minnesota

Program Committee

George Avrunin, University of Massachusetts, USA

Antonia Bertolino, ISTI-CNR, Italy

Victor Braberman, Universidad De Buenos Aires, Argentina

Myra Cohen, University of Nebraska, USA

Mark Harman, University College London, UK

William G.J. Halfond, University of Southern California, USA

Mary Jean Harrold, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Laurie Hendren, McGill University, Canada

Paola Inverardi, UniversitĂ  dell'Aquila, Italy

Lingxiao Jiang, Singapore Management University, Singapore

Darko Marinov, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Aditya V. Nori, Microsoft Research India

Corina Pasareanu, Carnegie Mellon University/NASA Ames Research Center, USA

Lori Pollock, University of Delaware, USA

Manu Sridharan, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA

Paolo Tonella, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Trento, Italy

Michael Whalen, University of Minnesota, USA

Tao Xie, North Carolina State University, USA

Charles Zhang, Hong Kong Univ of Science and Technology, China

Xiangyu Zhang, Purdue University, USA